Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that today's world subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some individuals argue that history remains one of the most important courses studied in school while others think that nowadays, programs like science and technology have taken the upper hand and are more useful than history. This essay will discuss why although science and technology are more useful these days, history remains important to be studied at college. Those that argued that history is one of the most important institution subjects might say that because of our cultural heritage which is covered in history classes. Because there is a need to preserve a country's culture, the government had to include history classes in all levels of study. For, instance, when I was in year 1 at the university studying medicine and surgery, we had borrowed subjects which includes a history course that we must pass in order to move to the next class, so we had no choice but to study history and it helped us identify different cultures in the globe. In addition, we had to memorize all the world leaders for our exams that year which I have not forgotten to date. However, I was convinced that history is important to be studied in university like every other course. On the other hand, most people still argue that science and technology are more important than history these days. This is a result of many innovations made in this field, for example, Computers and the internet have tipped the world into a digital place hence the trend becoming more popular among students. Secondly, many pupils prefer to study these courses as they are more interesting and practical to do than history class where most people sleep off during lectures. For these reasons, science and technology became more popular than history in school. In conclusion, although science and technology have proven to be more useful than history, there are some instances like preserving the global cultural heritage that makes history also important and useful as an institution subject.