Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

In the present age, much debate has sparked whether producing as much as possible is worth pursuing for every country. In my personal opinion it is of much importance, however, production should not be limitless. In this essay, I shall discuss both sides and give my findings in a conclusion. To begin, rapid production enriches the living standard of the country by boosting its economy. Maximizing exports and production of a given country allows it to massively benefit economically. Large exports also mean less imports, empowering the local economy to thrive without having to deal with foreign competition. This, as well as a larger GDP, lift up the HDI and, in turn, improve the livelihood of most if not all citizens. However, unlimited production results in industrial pollution, harming people and the environment. If a country solely focuses on industrial manufacturing without considering the consequences of these actions, then the environment of the country will suffer. This has negative effects on not only nature, but also people, for example the infamous London Smog, killing 22 thousand in 1952. This isn't the only instance, but just a real reminder that production needs to be balanced with ecological action. To conclude I can on balance assert that manufacturing brings many benefits to a country, however should not be practiced carelessly.