Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In today's world of rapid globalization and the displacement of people, friends are considered a part of the extended family. However, sentiments are divided over the kind of friends one must have. Some say that like-minded persons, who have the same thought process and point of view, should befriend each other. But some say that it is good practice to have some differences in opinions amongst companions. In the essay, I will discuss both views along with my opinion, which is in favour of the latter because of its rationality and end it with a suitable conclusion. Initiating with the points supporting the first school of thought, the biggest factor that can be stated is that it provides moral support. Such support is necessary for situations where the courage to follow through on a difficult decision is needed. For example, when I mentioned to my best pal that I had decided to quit my job in order to pursue higher studies, he immediately supported my decision. His faith in my decision helped me go through it and I successfully completed my Master's degree. Additionally, strong-minded persons, who have already made up their minds on doing certain things but only need affirmation from their close ones, need to surround themselves with folks who will agree with them on everything. On its contrasting side, one must not surround themselves with only 'Yes-Men'. The primary reason for this point of view is that getting contrary notions will help in making good decisions because it will be holistic in nature. It will also help in forming better opinions on people and other things. In addition to that, it can stop them from doing something that can harm them financially, physically or mentally. To cite an example, I was determined to join a gym in order to lose weight. But one of my friends advised me against it, owing to my obesity, which ultimately prevented a physical injury. In conclusion, I am of the outlook that our companion's different thinking abilities can eventually help us grow and prevent serious blunders in life. Although, it might depend on the mindset of the people which is the point of view favoured by them.