Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are companies that think their workers should follow the office dress code during work. While others think that clothing is not related with efficiency of work, therefore people should wear whatever they like. In my point of view, the approach can be different depending on a specific company and type of work. First argument I want to mention is that management can think that their employees are the face of the organization, that’s why they should wear a suit and look good. In such industries as finance and banking people definitely should wear good clothes and look smart for business meetings, it is the way to represent the values and reputation of a company. For example, people in Sberbank always wear suits in offices, sometimes even they wear green ties - in the color palette of the brand. Second argument is that people in some companies should look unified. It’s important to identify people of the specific profession, moreover their outfit has a functional necessity, not only decorative. For example, firemen should wear special fire resistant suits because they need them to be safe. Other companies think the other way. Companies with creative types of work don’t need their team to be suited, they need them to work properly. In IT companies or Marketing agencies people don’t usually represent their company in business meetings, they just work in the office. For example, people in Google can wear whatever they want, even pajamas until they are doing well with their tasks. Another situation when a smart dress code is not needed is when people try to optimize their time and spend it on creating some sort of outfit. This applies especially to IT companies again, directors or CEOs creating a minimalist wardrobe to save time. A good example is Steeve Jobs who wore just blue jeans, white sneakers and black turtleneck and it even became a famous outfit that people are trying to recreate. In conclusion, organizations can create specifications for their workers to wear specific types of clothes if they represent an image of a company or if it's needed in their specific profession. Others don’t need it because of the creative and free work atmosphere of just to save time from not doing smart looks every time. I think both ways can be relevant for a specific company and depends on type of work.