In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this rule of accommodation have some advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, the maximum number of people living in large buildings in most metropolis. This essay will demonstrate the pros of living in this kind of accommodation, like maintenance and all amenities, and the cons are no privacy and not being allowed to renovate the flat. One of the main advantages of living in a large building is that everything in the building is well maintained by the facility management maintenance team. For instance, in Ruwais Housing Society, which is Abu Dhabi's largest housing society, all buildings are properly maintained by the company IMECO. Furthermore, the temperature in summer is extremely high, so the facility management HVAC team starts preventive maintenance before the summer starts so the people will not suffer. Lifts, swimming pools, fire alarms, and other facilities are timely maintained in big buildings. On the contrary, the main disadvantage of living in large apartment buildings is that the facility maintenance team does not allow anyone to do renovations without prior permission. For example, almost all the big housing societies in the UAE are not allowing anyone to do any renovation work inside or outside the flat, otherwise they will give them a fine. Moreover, due to this law, many residents are unable to make the changes that they really want to make to their apartment to make it look beautiful. In a nutshell, a fraction of society wants to live in this type of accommodation to avail the proper maintenance of the building, while on the other hand, a large number of people just want to leave their apartments just because they are unable to make the changes that they really want.