In school or universities, girls prefer subjects related to art and boys prefer subjects related science. Should this tendency be changed? What is your opinion?

In the recent world, the difference between women and men in terms of roles in societies is becoming increasingly narrow. However, it is still believed that in the educational arena, young females favour arts where males choose science. I believe this attitude should be changed in near future from two points of view; it is molded by the traditional expectation of roles and responsibilities, and it will limit their career opportunities. The first reason I believe this phenomenon should be altered is that these school students' choices are somewhat impacted by the expectations from adults based on the long history of human beings. For example, girls are considered to stay home and do chores for their families, whereas boys are expected to go out and contribute to the outer world. Many young female students' preferences are influenced by this historical norm regardless of their awareness of it. Countries might be running a high risk of losing exceptionally intelligent women scientists in this way. As such, this should be corrected. The second point is that the above discussed young generation's choices are harmful for them when they choose future careers. Due to the long-standing environmental prejudice, both genders are under the pressure of considering their careers in the limitation of what they are expected from the outside world. In the modern life, it is attested that women can take up almost all occupations that men can do. However, still limited number of role models in the area of science whom young girls can follow. This situation needed to be changed soon. In conclusion, the traditional tendency of gender split in terms of preference on school programs should be adjusted as it has a risk for society to lose superior female scientists and male artist. Also, by keeping this biased view, the young generation is limiting their possibilities in their future careers. As such, I believe this should be shifted in near future.