Some people think the product should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making product cheap is more important.

The market is loaded with a variety of products to choose from. While durability is the main goal for some manufacturers,the other half focuses on making it affordable for the common man. In this essay, I will be discussing how both, a longer self-life and a cheaper price make the product ideal in its own way but when choosing one of them, the cost effectivity surpasses the benefits of the longevity of any given product. The longer lasting the goods are, the lesser the pollution caused by waste generated. Every item bought, has to be discarded after it wears and tears off, expires, loses its function, purpose or viability. If it happens too soon, the management of all the waste generated can increase the load on the planet. For instance, due to frequent accumulation of waste and unavailability of ways to tackle them, there is a steep rise in the number of landfills throughout the world. Durability can help in significantly reducing the amount of trash generated, hence lowering the burden of waste management making it a sustainable option. Cheaper goods are accessible. The lesser the price, the more widespread use of that product becomes possible. More and more consumers can benefit from having a cheaper, pocket- friendly alternative. For example, Low cost is even more crucial for the people of developing countries where a major part of the population is below poverty life. Not every person is affluent enough to purchase an expensive item so affordability of products increase the domain of buyers. The main goal of the manufacturing industry should be finding a balance between price and longevity. But, affordability outweighs the fight between the two because a large number of population especially in developing countries are not rich enough to spend a fortune on the things they buy in their everyday life. In conclusion, affordability can help the product to become popular, reach door-to- door and benefit every person, be it rich or poor.