Some people think that all university students sould study whatever they like. Others believe that they shoyld only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

A majority of the population supposed that people should take courses they are favoured of. On the contrary, some argue that the choice of one’s major for undergraduate study should take into account of its practical qualities in the near years to come. In this essay, I would like to include both views and provide a revelation of my opinions by examining some examples. First, an interesting major will enable students to yield better academic results and be more likely to succeed in the career relevant to their studies. To illustrate this, a lot of scholars have reached their senior year in their university with a moderately vague vision of their future employment. Consequently, they end up working in a field that is not associated with or has little connection with the major they took in university. Therefore, pursuing this employment, in the long run, turns out to be a futile effort. On the contrary, if one is interested in arts, he certainly is passionate about learning and discovering new methods to commit himself to the subjects, which eventually help him strive in academic activities. On the other hand, some believe one must study a major that offers a more prospective outcome after graduation. Courses, such as computer science, software programming, and financial technology provide vast opportunities for obtaining high-paying jobs and the low unemployment rate has drawn many people to study. However, from my perspective, those who are following the trend but not realizing which subjects are suiting or interesting them the most will not be committed to a prolonged career path. In short, it is undoubted that students are incentivized to follow their intuition to select the major which interests them in university so that they have a solid career in the future. By contrast, those who only saw a few financial benefits in near future by following the flux of studying the subjects they are against for will not see their prolonged career path.