Nowadays, it has become common for students to take a gap year between school and university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Living in today’s modern world, school leavers are gaining a wide range of stresses. This is due to the competitive college admissions. Many take a lot of time preparing for their university matriculation instead of reflecting on their professional goals. While it is general for school learners to take a gap year to find their own interest and seek out answers for their big questions in life, others hold an opinion that it is a waste of time. This essay discusses both positive and negative aspects of the aforementioned statement with various reasons to support each point of view before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages that school leavers can gain from taking a gap year. To begin with, they can spend more time to explore what they really want to achieve in life. In addition, they can have more time to prepare for their university admission exams. It is also possible for them to spend quality time for recreational purposes after their years of secondary education. Last but not least, many would like to take a gap year to advance new soft skills through informal learning that they have not been trained in formal education. On the other hand, there exists disadvantages that are concerned by many if they have to take a gap year. Chief among other reason is the belief that it is a waste of time to do nothing to enhance their study after school graduation. Furthermore, many would argue that they can develop essential soft skills and seek their life purposes while taking university courses through extracurricular activities without having to take a gap year. Besides, those delaying their time to study further would feel regret for themself since most of their friends have already in university. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are many benefits of taking a gap year, many drawbacks come alongside. However, I personally believe that taking some time off to reflect upon their life purposes and values as well as to develop their skills to the fullest, there is no doubt that this course of action can be beneficial.