Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the modern world. Given time, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Analyse both sides of this argument.

Cutting-edge automation has brought a myriad of benefits, not least in the field of education. Some people argue that teachers will become obsolete while others hold a solid belief in traditional schooling. I; nevertheless, support the latter. On the one hand, well-designed online lessons seem to be able to please a significant number of students regardless of their location. An American guy and an Indian student are the same access to a vast amount of knowledge. This is truly helpful to those who have difficulty in mobility or live in off-track villages. Furthermore, technology also brings convenience to learners who are able to access the Internet to learn anytime and anywhere. It means that they could utilise their limited time to broaden their awareness as much as possible without worrying about timetables or schedules at institutions. On the other hand, I am convinced that instructors still maintain their crucial role because of the following reasons. Firstly, unlike a virtual teacher, conventional ones have deep interaction with students through eye contact, and a responding process, not to mention sharing. They are, to some extent, regarded as a friend of learners who are willing to be good listeners and be able to give some reasonable advice. Secondly, traditional teachers teach not only knowledge about Science or Maths, but also morals which computers can not. Ethical lessons about what behaviours are proper, and how to become a good citizen for instance are unique at offline schools. Last but not least, traditional education with the involvement of schoolmasters likely does not lead to an unhealthy lifestyle in which learners are glued to the screen with little mobility. Physical education lessons are inserted into the curriculum to avoid the sedentary habit attributed to machinery. In conclusion, I would contend that automation will not replace the vital role of teachers even though its prevalent growth. Educators impart morals, share feelings and encourage healthy routines in students, which technology is hard to achieve.