In some countries, an increasing number of people have health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore essential for governments to increase a tax on fast food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Living in the contemporary day and age, a face-paced lifestyle plays an important role in people’s lives. This is due to the fact that there exist various fast foods that can be bought affordably and effortlessly. However, this course of action affects many aspects and inevitably contributes to several health issues such as malnutrition. Thus, it is generally held that the only solution is that the governments should higher a tax on fast food expenditures. This essay partially agrees with the aforementioned statement and provides a set of reasons to support each point of view before the conclusion is reached. First and foremost, it is without a doubt that rising this food area’s tax can effectively solve the problem of an unhealthy lifestyle. To be more explicit, this measure will force the residents dwelling in society to gradually decrease their purchases of a fast snacks in order to save money. A concrete example can be found in an increasing excise on alcohol which successfully resulted in its lower consumption. On the contrary, there exists numerous negative consequences derive from this method. First of all, this solution inevitably undermines an individual's freedom. To justify this notion, people from all walks of life must have the right to choose their lifestyle's choice whether they want to consume junk foods or nourishing foods. Moreover, it does more harm than good when it comes to impoverished people’s perspective since their expenses are greater than usual. To summarize, despite the fact that increasing additional tax on fast cuisine can significantly handle health problems in society, several drawbacks come alongside namely, restriction of freedom or increase in a financial burden to the poor. Different people have the distinct mindsets which are all valid in their own judgement, no matter what the reasons are, it is indispensable to acquire healthy behaviour.