Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. To what extent fo you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in the contemporary day and age, there exist various products containing a large proportions of sugar which are enormously flavoured by a number of people. However, this action tends to affect many aspects and inevitably contributes to several health-related issues such as Diabetes or obesity. Thus, it is generally held that the only solution is that the governments should have the policy to make sugary products less affordable to the population by higher their price. This essay partially agrees with the aforementioned statement and provides a set of reasons to support each point of view before the conclusion is reached. First and foremost, it is without a doubt that rising prices of these product areas can effectively solve the problem of significant sugar consumption. To be more explicit, this measure will force the residents dwelling in society to gradually decrease their purchases of high-glucose drinks or foods in order to save money. A concrete example can be found in an increasing excise on alcohol which successfully resulted in its lower consumption. On the contrary, there exists numerous negative consequences derive from this method. First of all, increasing additional cost of malnutrition products inevitably undermines an individual's freedom. To justify this notion, people from all walks of life must have the right to choose their lifestyle's choice whether they want to consume unhealthy foods or nourishing foods. Moreover, it does more harm than good when it comes to impoverished people’s perspective since their expenses are greater than usual. To summarize, despite the fact that decreasing the affordability of sugary cuisine can significantly handle health problems, several drawbacks come alongside namely, restriction of freedom or an increase in the financial burden to the poor. I partly perceived that this course of action can be beneficial. However, different people have distinct mindsets which are all valid in their own judgement, no matter what the reasons are, it is indispensable to acquire healthy behaviour.