In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays, as the world's prosperity grows, there is a continuously increasing trend in the rate of those travelling by thier own vehicles. However, this action contributes to numerous affects to many aspects and chief among others is congested and hectic traffic which is being encountered by many overcrownded countries. Hence, there has been an ongoing dispute concerning the benefits and drawbacks of rising enormous tax to people owing private car in order to enhance public transports. This essay discusses both aspects of the aforementioned issue with various reasons to support each point of view before the conclusion is reached. First and foremost, it is undeniable that increasing additional tax can effectively reduce the number of cars on the road and solve the problem of significant congestion. This is due to the fact that this measure will force residents dwelling in society to gradually decrease their usage of personal car in order for money to be saved. Moreover, allocating financial gain from this operation to encourage dwellers using public transportion can also advance the well-being of them as they can effortlessly and affordably commute to work without purchasing private car. On the contrary, there exist a number of negative consequences resulted from this method. People living in far-reaching area can not approach these benefits equally as the public tranports transport are not accessible in some regions. As a result, they have to buy their own cars. If government declare this policy, many locals will encounter financial issues. Furthermore, this policy inevitably undermines an individual's freedom. To justify this notion, people from all walks of life must have the right to choose their lifestyle's choice whether they want to commute by their own cars or the public's. To summarize, despite the fact that the problem of congestion can be efficiently handled by taxing vehicle owners, there are several inevitable disadvantage disadvatages namely financial problems of people residing in far-flung areas or restriction of freedom. In my perspective, government should apply sustainable solutions in the long run and affect their citizens in a minor scale.