Some people think that good health is a basic human need and the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do disadvantages outweigh advantages? Give your opinion.

It is true that nowadays there is an increasing number of privately-operated healthcare services besides public agencies. While there exist several drawbacks to the services of these private-owned firms, I believe they are eclipsed by the substantial benefits. On the one hand, it is understandable why people disapprove of medical treatment provided by profit-makers. The key rationale is attributed to the expensive equipment used in these hospitals or clinics along with the exorbitant prices that patients have to cover. Additionally, due to the major aim of maximizing profits, these firms may raise the costs of their services such as prescription fees or surgery prices. This may act as a contributor to the inaccessibility to medical care of people who live under the poverty line, which prevents them from receiving the most effective cure. For example, the USA is a typical example of an excessively unfair and inaccessible healthcare due to the privatization of such factor. Meanwhile, the UK offers a National Health Service that delivers universal healthcare. On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned disadvantages, I would argue that private healthcare is still an optimal choice for people. The foremost reason is a large number of experienced practitioners working in these companies. In order to gain profits, these hospitals also need to boost their service quality to attract more customers. They spend a flood of funding on taking on veteran doctors and surgeons aiming to prove patients with excellent services. Furthermore, the cleanliness of medical services and the generous capacity of these companies are the reasons why they are quite popular among people despite the high costs. Hong Ngoc hospital in Hanoi perfectly exemplifies this choice of patients. Compared to some public hospitals with the overloading and the poor sanitation, this hospital offers a wide range of sickrooms which are sterilized daily and a number of considerate staffs, which is equivalent to the costs. In conclusion, while the demerits attached to private medical services are definite, I believe with the number of seasoned doctors and the adequate cleanliness, these hospitals still have more merits than the negative ones.