One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion is one problem faced by almost every large city. In other words, there seem to be two main causes involved, and some feasible remedies, which we will discuss here. Due take economic growth, globally more and more people are capable of affording cars of their own in order to improve their mobility and employment opportunities. However, this can lead to long traffic jams in big cities, which creates a lot of stress and road rage among drivers and passengers. A further cause seems to be that public transportation in the megapolises is not properly arranged and that's why they are of a low-quality. Therefore, many individuals find personal causes much more attractive and comfortable so they opt for purchasing automobiles. Regarding potential solutions, probably the major solutions would be to invest in or fund infrastructure in order to prioritize this means of transportation over others. In other words, widening the roads, new models of public buses and dedicated lanes for buses would appear to encourage citizens to drive cars less and give preference to public transport. Another way to take this issue might be strong propaganda and publicity of car-sharing, bike riding and online working as well as shopping, which aim at motivating the population to use motorcars less. For example, the epidemic of Covid-19 proved that many possible outside activities can be done at home. Hence home-working should be viewed as an option and planned out so that there is less need to commute from the suburbs to the inner city for work. To sum up, I believe that primary issues concerning traffic congestion, including the affordability of vehicles and the poor condition of public transport, can be solved by investment and propaganda of new means of mobility.