Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Whether music is an effective way to make people closer regardless of cultural patterns and age groups is still a controversial issue. Some people believe that music is a highly-effective tool that tightens up the linkage among people all over the world regardless of their cultural patterns and age groups. From my personal viewpoint, I utterly agree with this statement and will discuss that in the next paragraphs. On the one hand, music, transcending national boundaries and language barriers, connects people together. There is no doubt that music is a form of emotional expression and expansion which is felt not only by words but also by melodies and rhythms. For instance, when listening to a blues song, no matter which language it is, you are more likely to be immersed in full of sadness, a result of sensation through the pitch and intensity in a singer’s voice rather than your comprehension of exactly what the singer is delivering. As a result, the song, and more specifically, the melody, bringing auditors into the space with empathy, seems to create an invisible bond among the crowd. In addition, from a scientific perspective, music can help our brain produce a chemical named dopamine that boosts listeners’ energy and optimism when listening to joyful and fast-tempo songs. This standpoint is easily recognized by the reality that people have a tendency to sway their bodies and smile more than usual right after the music is turned on. On the other hand, it is widely accepted that music is able to narrow a widening gulf between old and young people. Nowadays, adolescents appear to communicate more on social media rather than through face-to-face communication, which totally opposes the lifestyles of people in the past who usually criticize the younger for their unhealthy ways of life. As a consequence, music rises as a method that young people can apply to straightforwardly connect with adults. For example, a national music program called Proud Melodies came under the spotlight as soon as it was on-air because of its generation connectivity. During this program, singers belonging to various generations with seemingly different genres of music had a chance to collaborate in pairs to perform the chosen song together. Subsequently, a great number of remarkable renditions are created and unprecedentedly exploded on social media as testimonies of the bridged generation divide. To sum up, it is obvious that physical distance and the age gap could be discarded and people around the world could be closely intertwined thanks to the support of music. In the current situation where wars still took place in some parts of the globe, globalization is a goal being pushed out of our reach. Consequently, music might be considered a useful method for countries to bring their people closer than ever.