Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

It is true that these days the majority of people have easy access to computers and children, unfortunately, prefer playing computer games rather than going out and playing with their peers. Since we live in a century of rapid technological development, we should be grateful and thankful actually to its opportunities, but still, there are some drawbacks to this. To begin with, the world is revolving around technology now hereby substituting a stressful life with a stress-free one. One of the main advantages of this is convenience. Parents don’t have to take their kids out and look at them protecting them from dangers, instead, they can give them just iPads and be sure that kids are in safety. Consequently, parents have more time to relax after a tiresome working week. Secondly, another major merit to this is that it is a way of distraction. For instance, whenever a mother is preparing food during weekends, she can always give her kids gadgets to play with and to keep them busy, because kids get easily distracted by graphs, activities and screenplays, so this can help parents to handle house chores and other daily routines. It would be way irritating and tricky if there were no indoor games. Speaking about disadvantages, they are also on the surface and easy to detect. The main drawback is that there is an emotional attachment to family members and kids don’t learn to socialize with other children and adults. In addition, youngsters can lose focus on schoolwork. For instance, I have a friend and her son missed an assignment due to the number of video games she has at home lined up for her every day after school. This can not be underestimated. In a nutshell, technology is advancing ad making an individual’s growth easy for us, but the setback can not be swept under the carpet.