Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but they should be concerned about the quality at work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people nowadays prefer to wear casual clothes to the workplace, but some companies set up rules against this. They were required to dress formally or even in uniforms. Some believe that employers should focus on their work performance only instead of their dress. Personally, I would argue that the employees’ productivity is of number one importance. Good dressing indeed has some advantages. For example, it can give other people good impressions. This is particularly important in some areas of work like servicing industry, where high customer satisfaction has a direct impact on a company's reputation and income. If a salesperson fails to dress properly at work, he might encounter difficulties in successfully selling his product, which resulted in the loss of the whole company. However, the quality of work of the employees affects the business aspect of the company directly. The success of a company largely relies on the contribution of its staff. If they often work poorly, or at a degraded efficiency, it may lead to a decline in the company ’s revenue, which could further hamper the development of the company. This is not a good sign that employers wish to see, and it is not the kind of issue that can be solved by solely having a proper suit. Moreover, if an employee makes an outstanding contribution and is awarded by his boss, this will boost the morale of the whole company, and trigger the motivation of other people. In summary, I think that having a suitable dress at work is not as important as the quality of the performance. High productivity of staff benefits directly the whole company and contributes to the morale of the others. Therefore, quality work should be the goal of all businesses.