Some people believe that it is the residents that are responsible for the cleaning and tidying the street. While others believe it is the responsibility of the government. Discuss both sides and give your opinions

Owing to the problem on who should responsible in tidying the street, while some people argue that it is the government job, others believe that it is the resident's responsibility. In my opinion, there should be a sharing task between the government and the residents to do the job. The government has an obligation by the law to provide a good place for its people to live, including a clean street. Moreover, street area is a public space that should be taken care by the official. The local authority has a big budget, making a street cleaning is an easy task to do. For example, in 2018, the annual local budget for public area maintenance was about 2 billion rupiah. This amount is seen as a stellar budget for just keeping the public area tidy, making the tidying is an easy and feasible task for the government. Thus, the government should take the responsibility of road maintenance given its big budget. On the other hand, the residents also have the obligation to take care of the road near their house as it is part of their area. People who live by the road has a big influence to the cleanliness of their nearby street. The leaves from the trees at their property might fall into the street, making the road dirty. For instance, in the fall season in the Beverly Hills area, a small road might be closed because it is blocked by the tons of leaves from the trees inside the residents' houses. In other words, even tough the street is a common area, the property nearby could influence the tidiness of the street. In conclusion, although a street is a public area where normally become the government's obligation to take care of it, the public also should be part of the move.