Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about the country.

It must be accepted that advertisements not just publicize the commercial product but also are seen as the face of any country. I certainly agree with the statement that commercials do tell a lot about a particular country. My opinion is explained further with reasons and examples. The most paramount argument to favour my opinion is that advertisements interpret many aspects of a country's culture. It displays food habits, traditions, lifestyle, family types, relations and a complete cultural summary. For instance, the commercial for a fruit jam in my county shows that children can eat jam not just with bread but also with "roti" the most popular homemade Indian bread. The other reason is that this publicity media exhibits people's attitudes, expectations and demands for the type of product. For example, the advertisements for hair oil are much more than those promoting anti ageing creams. This is because my country has still some deep-rooted traditional beliefs, so hair oil sales may increase with advertisements than that anti-ageing. Moreover, it shows the reliability of the company, the efforts of the manufacturer and the usage of the product in the context of that country. On the other hand, some experts may claim that it may not be so always because advertisements are the most popular media to promote new foreign concepts, their use and usefulness. A good example of this is a recent advertisement by KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) that promotes an entirely new concept of non-vegetarian fast food. All in all, it can be summed up that though sometimes advertisements promote a foreign product with a non-cultural idea, the fact remains that advertisements undoubtedly represent a country's culture and can be seen as its overview.