As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a contentious topic about the fact that businesses, apart from making a good profit, also have to be responsible for the well-being of society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement due to the fact that the lack of responsibility of firms and cooperations can have a detremental effect on the environment as well as the salary of their workers. First and foremost, the outcome of businesses only focusing on maximizing their profit can have a negative effect on the environment. Researchers from the Havard University have found out that the waste created by factories, is one ò the main reasons for the alarming environment situation that the world are facing right now. Therefore, it is pivotal that businesses, contribute their effort to protect the environment. This can be done by reducing the industrial waste as well as producing products that, are friendly to the environment, Second of all, in the process of maximize their profit, firms will try to cut down on their expenses, leading to the decrease in the income of workers. A prime example for this matter is the fact that, a lot of international cooperations choosing China as their manufacturer thanks to the cheap labour cost. Hence, workers are paid a minimum wage, which is just barely enough to pay for their cost of living. Therefore, businesses should also consider not just the profit but also the status of their workers. In conclusion, as well as making money, businesses also should take responsibility in ensuring the well-being of the society. This can be done by protecting the environment, as well as higher wages for their workers.