Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

There is a discourse about whether English is more primary than local languages. Some people say if other languages are overshadowed by English, it could vanish over time. In this essay, we will discuss the importance of English in our daily life and the effort of saving domestic languages. English has established itself to become a universal translation that unites billion of citizens on earth. Its speakers spread across the world, making it the second most used dialect behind mandarin. Because of its popularity, learning English is seen to be the main bridge to communicating with the world. For instance, United Nation delegates around the world talk in a forum with English as its main speech because it is easier to be understood by the majority of its attendees. This fact strengthens the English to hold the throne as the most important speech. So, learning English is key for everyone to connect to the rest of the world. On the other hand, It is also a major task for the citizen to save their local dialects as part of their cultural heritage. If its speaker declined, the language would vanish, and no one will remember the speech that might need hundreds of years to create. The one thing we can do to ensure its survival is to use it on a daily basis, so its speaker will always exist. For instance, a Madura language that was once almost extinct surprisingly could come to the surface again after the government ruling that obligates domestic people to verbalize it daily. In other words, by vocalizing it in our regular conversations, we can save the local dialects from extinction. To summarize, learning English is very crucial as it is the main key to connecting to international society but at the same time ensuring local dialects' survival by using it daily is also important as it is part of the cultural heritage. Thus, in my opinion, we should learn English as our second speech aside from our native local ones.