many manufactured food and drink products ontain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people o consume less sugar. Do you agree or desagree?

Many industrialized products are known to have a high content of sugar, leading to different health disorders. Some believe that if the price of these products increases, it would encourage individuals to consume less sugar. In my opinion, making food with high sugar content more expensive would not be enough to decrease consumption. Other measures like providing more information on the effects on our health should also be done to achieve such behavioural changes. Increasing the price of products with high levels of sugar could be a starting point for a more elaborate prevention plan towards a healthier society, albeit not powerful enough by itself. Sugary foods are very addictive, and many consumers eat these for desire or preference, not because these are cheaper products. Sometimes, even due to a lack of information about possible consequences to a person’s health. Therefore, increasing the price alone most likely would not change much. People would probably continue to consume these products. On the other hand, if this measure were to be set in place with other initiatives such as educational ads in supermarkets and in schools, results could be more appealing. Having a health advocator in supermarkets providing courses or quick lectures about which products could be better for our health could help those that consume sugar -rich foods out of adequate knowledge of its health consequences. Doing the same at schools could empower children and they could easily bring that knowledge home. Consequently, when prices go up, it would have more impacting results. In summary, high levels of sugar are found in many industrialized goods and can generate many undesirable health consequences. Increasing the prices to control consumption would probably not be very effective by itself. However, if education about general health impact were associated, better results are expected.