Some people think that the government of a nation should decide the subject for students to study in university. Others believe that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss both views and your opinion.

There is a controversial topic on whether the government or individuals should decide on students ’ studies in university. I understand that the government would have a better idea of what talents are in demand, so people would think if the government selects subjects for students in the university can manipulate the talent resources within the country. However, individuals should have a choice for their career, so choosing enjoyable subjects in the university is one of the most important affairs in life for students and I agree with this point of view. As we all know that choosing subjects in university means choosing your career and something that you would like to pursue in the future. No one can decide your path, not your best friend and not even your parents. More importantly, everyone has grown up in different backgrounds with various cultures and self-expectations. I firmly believe that individuals should apply what they want to study and pursue their dream step by step instead of following others' instructions and living like a robot. In fact, I think the government should provide a guideline for both students and the universities to assist students in selecting the most suitable subjects in university for their future path rather than making the final decision for students in the first place. In this case, the government can make sure the human resources can be optimised within a nation giving the greatest flexibility to students. All in all, I believe that students should be given the freedom to select their study unit in the university, whereas the government should provide guidance and advice to student's course selection.