Information technology enable employees to work from home or while travelling. Do you think advantages this mobility overweighs disadvantages

In this cutting-edge technological era, people can continue their office work while staying at their homes and travelling. There are more merits of this practice than its demerits; both, of which along with the conclusion, would be captivated in the forthcoming paragraphs. There are a plethora of benefits of working remotely; the foremost is the reduction in the travelling expenses that sometimes cover half of their salary, especially when masses travel to the offices, which are situated hundreds of miles away from their place of residence. Additionally, it decreases living expenditure as working professionals do not have to take an apartment on rent. For instance, if an office is stationed in Bengaluru, which is 500 kilometres away from Punjab, then working from home would be a boon for an employee because he would not have to travel and reside in a rental apartment, which ultimately would eliminate their travelling and living expenses. Nevertheless, there are some demerits, which are associated with working virtually from home, and the lack of face-to-face interaction is one of them, which is essential for professionals. As a result, it becomes difficult for employees to communicate even though there are enormous technological applications and gadgets available to facilitate communication. In 2020, to cite an example, when the coronavirus hit businesses adversely, work from home became popular and this did not provide them as much revenue as it was before the pandemic. In conclusion, although there are some adverse consequences of working online, its tremendous benefits cannot be overlooked. Thus, organisations should consider weighing both as the situation demands.