Shopping is the favorite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many teenagers nowadays spent their free time shopping rather than playing games or studying. This is not only because social media has influenced their lifestyle, but also the way online shoppers encouraged its customer to buy things more than ever. In my view, young people should have more outdoor activities, whether it is social or physical that will enhance their soft skills as well as social skills. Firstly, social networks such as Instagram and Facebook have enabled people to access unlimited content from all over the world. As a result, it unconsciously changed people ’s lifestyles which are highly correlated with how they spent their money. In other words, many young people are adopting each other lifestyle and this results in more shopping behavior. For example, every time I see my friends upload their new stuff, I'm also amazed and want to buy the same stuff. Secondly, advertisements from online markets have impacted young people to buy things more than before. This way will encourage people to buy things impulsively. For instance, whenever I open an e-commerce app, there will be a section namely “product recommendation for you” that triggered me to scroll and buy things I did not even need. However, I personally believe that the young generation should have more offline activities that enabled them to have social interaction with others. Any sports activities or pro-bono community is highly recommended for teenagers to be able to develop their social skills. Thus, it will be more beneficial for young people to have this kind of activity rather than spent time shopping. To conclude, I believe that teenagers' shopping behavior is affected by several media including social media and advertisements from an online sellers. But it will be better if they spend their free time doing outdoor activities that would benefit them in the long run.