online shopping has become more popular than before, discuss the causes and effects of this trend

Today, with the Internet so readily accessible to us, more and more people are turning to online shopping for all their necessities. This essay will discuss various causes and effects of this development on individuals and the society. To embark on, there are several reasons why online shopping has become a widespread activity. First and foremost, most companies provide a lot of offers and discounts on their products in order to attract as many customers as they can. For example, big corporate houses tie-up with credit card vendors and banks. In addition, they provide cashback offers to lure customers. Furthermore, it was noticed that many e-commerce websites are using data analytic techniques to know about the preferences of people and then they bombard them with advertisements about this particular product. For instance, Amazon, an online shopping website which records the pattern of customer shopping habits and then uses this information to lure them into buying more. This development has affected society in both positive and negative ways. It should be noted that this trend has soared the number of sales and profits of companies which in turn lead them to open new factories and warehouses to meet the increasing demands. As a result, people get more job opportunities. On the other hand, people are becoming shopaholics, and due to,shopping they are facing unnecessary burdens of debt. They spend most of their earnings to pay off personal loans. Consequently, they have no money to save. In conclusion, I believe that people are addicted to shopping and they tend to buy products that they do not need or want. In the meantime, corporate houses are grabbing the hard-earned money of individuals by using smart marketing strategies and becoming richer.