Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The ability to read and write has always been a skill for people. To interact with other people, it is essential to communicate our thoughts, ideas or emotions with other people. Also reading and writing skills are still the best methods to achieve communication between people. In addition to making communication possible, reading and writing are also more vital today than in the past because they allow us to process information from many sources, such as books, newspapers, magazines, and especially today the Internet. Although the ability to read and write has always been of paramount importance, I think it is even more so today than in the past. Although in the past, reading and writing were also important because people had no other way to communicate with each other. Without reading and writing we cannot compete with other people because the competition in the modern world in the educational and labor sector is even greater than in the past. Therefore, having a quality education and the ability to read and write is more important than ever in the past. In conclusion, I think it's safe to say that people who lack the ability to write are at a disadvantage when it comes to actively participating in modern society. Knowing how to read is just as important. People who cannot read cannot understand you when you speak to them and this does not allow good communication. I believe that reading and writing are the most important skills of the human being and that in our times it is much more important than in the past.