Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, schools have blended real life working experience into their curriculum for teenage students. However, some people think that adolescents are too young to grasp the idea of work, so there should be a limit on this. Personally, I completely disagree with the statement and I think it is beneficial to let students experience work environment as part of their education First of all, children are fully capable of understanding the meaning of work given the right conditions and instructions. Take German schools for example, some give a chance for their secondary students to work with organizations to do fund-raising for charity and their high schoolers to actually work in a factory. Throughout the process, teachers and companies constantly monitor, supervise and give feedback. As a result, it is reported that students show high level of engagement and dedication, which means teenagers can comprehend to a great extent the concept of working with the help and support from all parties. Secondly, students gain distinctive advantages in life. Indeed, employers preferably seek for ones with not only appealing qualifications but also certified work experience. This means the students who finish their working trip will have more chance to land a good and well-paid job in this competitive labour market. In addition, when juveniles work, even as trivial as printing paper or collecting mails, they are more likely to come to appreciate things around them provided by their parents. They will see how making money and providing for family can take sweats, hearts and tears by experiencing work themselves. Consequently, I believe that that will give them compelling motivation to study hard. In conclusion, it is sensible for students to gain work experience along with their academic study because real-life experiences benefit our students in ways that will last beyond graduation.