Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, many folks prefer to use herbal medications over scientific drugs as it gives much cheaper prices. I believe this is a negative development as it will lead to various kinds of bad impacts and a person's life. This essay will elaborate on the two factors that will contribute to my opinion. To begin with, an unprescribed medicine could worsen the condition of an illness or it will lead to other severe diseases. Doctors have been trained for many years to prescribe drugs safely to cure the illness. Thus, this comprehensive knowledge could minimize the risk of severe diseases that might be caused by reckless medication. For example, according to a recent article published by The New York Times, a hospital in New York has an increasing number of new cases caused by taking illegal drugs. Therefore, it is always advisable to take medical advice before prescribing your own medicine. In addition to the above, illegal drug use can bring death to a person. For instance, if we guide through the mainstream media during the last few years, we can pop out a number of illustrations to case out unprescribed medicines that cause to death of certain people. Moreover, some cases were curable if they have contacted the right personnel before taking those drugs. So, it is a best practice to channel a doctor before taking medication on your own. To conclude, taking herbal medicines could bring negative development as it will worsen the existing condition and even to death. So, in my opinion, everyone should act in a responsible manner before receiving treatment based on word of mouth.