Unemployment remains the biggest challenge for school leavers. To what extent do you agree? What other challenges do young people face today?

n the present age, unemployment continues to be a huge challenge for school leavers. I believe that this is true in the modern day economy with companies requiring work experience from young people and the government trying to keep an unemployment rate. However, unemployment is not the only difficulty that youth faces today. First of all, it is becoming harder to find a job for school leavers because they lack work experience. Many companies want to hire experienced workers as an insurance that the work will be done correctly. Finding a job that doesn’t require having experience can be quite a challenge. A great way to gain work experience is doing charity work and volunteering, but for that, a person needs to have time to spare which not everyone has. Another thing that adds to the unemployment problem for younger people is that the government tries to keep an unemployment rate of about 2% at all times. This system provides an opportunity to switch jobs for people and to build a career. Also, this model benefits new businesses. The problem for young people is that they usually fall in that percentage of unemployment, because of a lack of working experience. Another big challenge that young people face after finishing school is starting an independent life. This includes a lot of things like acquiring their own place to live, learning how to maintain that place, making their own plans, appointments with no help from parents or guardians and paying bills and rent. This can be quite tricky because the school doesn’t teach young people basic life skills that can be necessary when living independently. They can of course turn to their parents for help, but not everyone has such a privilege. Of course, none of these challenges can even begin before a young person finds a job, because to live independently people need to have a steady income. To conclude I believe that unemployment is the main problem that young people face after finishing school. This is mainly because of how the job market is built. Other challenges can only begin after finding a job.