As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that companies should not only generate revenues but should also be responsible for social issues. Personally, I agree with the point of view that enterprises should be honour bound to contribute, which will have positive effects on both the society and the company itself. On the one hand, enterprises have always inclined towards making profits. I believe that businesses already contribute to community by only focusing on making incomes. The main reason is that when companies create surplus, they can expand their businesses, which brings more job opportunities to people. Some big cross-border corporations such as Apple or Google can be a great illustration. A survey conducted recently revealed they headhunted thousands of workers all over the world, which helps reduce unemployment rates in many countries. Additionally, the more earnings enterprises make, the more taxes they pay to the government. The money raised from this can be used to invest in other important sectors such as health care, education, which will benefit the society as a whole. On the other hand, I would argue that apart from making money, businesses should also bear the social responsibilities. First, since the rising number of factories these days has led to severe environmental damage, companies need to take the lead to help protect the natural environment. For instance, they could introduce new technologies or innovations to recycle their wastes instead of disposing right away or releasing into the air. This would contribute to cutting down emissions and hence help to reduce greenhouse effect. In conclusion, for the reason mentioned above, although companies should prioritize the need to make money, I believe that they should also have obligation to the society.