In some companies, social skills are given priority over qualifications when screening their possible employees. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Many companies concentrate more on social skills than qualifications when evaluating their employees. These critical skills are becoming popular among employees. Most people believe that they are more important than formal qualifications. In my opinion, I do agree that processing good social skills, apart from academic skills, can give people advance their careers. Academic qualifications play a critical role in one’s career because they measure a person’s capacity and knowledge. In fact, all companies respect the intellectual power of employees because it is a valuable asset that contributes to the company's development. This is especially true for works involving in-deep research and development, such as information technology, computer science, and medicine. Without technical knowledge, a person has very little chance of getting hired or promoted. However, having only a good degree does not guarantee promotion after employee reviews. In this modern society, people rarely work alone and often need to communicate with each other to get a better result. Especially in the past years of the epidemic, remote work has become a popular trend in many different industries. For that reason, people with excellent interpersonal skills and the ability to collaborate are more likely to build good relationships with their co-workers that will perform better at work. Conversely, people who lack those critical skills may be isolated or misunderstood and cause conflict among workers, hindering the process of working together. In short, people with good communication skills often gain the love and trust of their colleagues and have a higher chance of climbing the career ladder. In conclusion, I believe that social skills strongly interdepend with career success as they help a person to integrate and facilitate their work process.