The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that more and more people all over the world rely on social networking sites to keep in touch with people that they know. Despite some obvious positive aspects of this trend, I would argue that overall, these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are two major advantages of using social media rather than depending on face-to-face communication. Firstly, in the modern world, members of families or friends may often be scattered across continents in the world because of work or study commitments. Family reunions may be unachievable and impossible to organize, and, without the revolution and development of social media, people might be deprived of the possibility to contact relatives or close friends. Secondly, thanks to such platforms as Viber or Facebook, it is now possible to remain in contact with a large number of people, keeping abreast of news, exchanging pleasantries, and sharing photos. For example, from a business perspective, many companies have organized virtual meetings due to a recent infectious disease. On the other hand, I believe that face-to-face communication cannot be substituted. One reason for this is that social media prevent real interaction and discourage users from working on necessary social skills. Humans use all their senses in order to comprehensively interact with each other, such as touch and gestures. Another reason is that interaction which takes place in person avoids some of the potential dangers of social media. To illustrate, these include intelligence criminals such as hackers or online frauds, who aim at stealing personal information or money on networking sites. In conclusion, although there are convincing arguments both for and against face-to-face interaction being replaced by social networks, I consider the drawbacks of lack of personal contact outweigh the benefits of virtual communication.