Nuclear energy is a better than other sources of energy for meeting the ever increasing global energy need. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the need for power. Energy derived from nuclear reactions is considered to be better than other available energy sources. I do not agree with this statement because this energy is costly,and there is a lot of toxic waste generated from it. Procuring power from nuclear reactions is a tedious and expensive task. Firstly, governmental bodies need to set up nuclear power stations, this requires a huge amount of monetary investment. In addition to this, these energy generators occupy a lot of space which might require mass deforestation, further adding to the expenses. Hence, generating power from nuclear emissions and atomic collisions has many financial drawbacks, which can have a negative effect on the economy. Although, nuclear energy is an efficient source of power, it is known to produce tonnes of dangerous waste. This can have detrimental effects on the health of people, because of its radiotoxic and cytotoxic nature. Furthermore, the world has not discovered ways of discarding these lethal substances, hence they are conveniently dumped in water bodies. This can result in cancers and developmental disorders in children, who consume this polluted water. There are alternative energy sources, which are cheaper, safer and produce minimum waste. These include, energy from solar panels and hydraulic stations. In conclusion, nuclear energy has several economic downsides, and produces a lot of radioactive waste which is difficult to get rid of. Therefore, I believe that it is not the best resource, which can be used to satisfy the energy requirements of the world. There are other cost-effective and safer choices available.