More and more people are leaving the countryside to live in the cities. Does this development have positive or negative effects on the environment?

People Migrating from rural areas to commercial cities have become a trend lately. While there can be a myriad of advantages to individuals, the impact it has on the environment has taken up its toll which is alarming. The more people in cities results in increasing demand for transport. To begin with, this will need city councils to extend more methods of transport to commute passengers. As a result, this will increase the release of greenhouse gases from the fossil fuel consumption of vehicles discharging carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide to the air. As an example, it is reported that Delhi in India is considered to be the most polluted city in Asia where 80 per cent of the air quality is not suitable for the human body to consume. In addition to this, Housing has become a scarcity with a large number of people moving in to Join the words into show examples cities lately. Firstly, this will result in more infrastructure projects coming up ultimately losing more trees in the process. Furthermore, researchers have found that 70% of developing countries have lost 30 per cent of their trees due to the high demand of housing in commercial areas. In addition to this, this has been followed by climate change dilemmas, such as floods and adverse weather patterns which has crippled the livelihood of many people. In conclusion, even though people move into cities with the probability of experiencing the quality of life with peace and tranquillity, the truth of the matter is that these unplanned movements have disrupted the balance of the environment causing adverse effects to countries.