Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a range of primary schools that begin teaching a new foreign language to primary students. Some people agree with the statement that it would do wonders for young students; however, other people think that it is so early to start learning a second language in primary schools for the students. There are several aspects of this statement. The disadvantage of starting a new language for primary students is quite difficult to remember words and pronunciation. In fact, foreign subjects are quite tricky for students, and remembering new words and pronunciation of these words are some of the biggest difficulties for most of the students because they are learning their mother tongue about reading words, writing words, and grammar, so learning a new language makes some students feel tired and some students can be difficult to memorize new vocabulary, practice pronunciation skills. In addition, learning a new language at an early age can make the students overloaded and exhausted in their studies. In primary compulsory, young students have to learn many subjects such as Math, mother tongue, Science, and Life Skills,…. And now, the students also have to learn a second language at school which put pressure on students. Moreover, most students have a tendency to go to tutorial centres or tutorial classes to learn major subjects. For instance, the primary students of Vietnam tend to learn Math and Vietnamese after school, so the students can feel tired if they have to learn a foreign language to pass the final examination. On the other hand, children at a young age are faster learners; therefore primary schools should educate a new language for young pupils which can support foreign learning more effectively in the future. Nowadays, most primary schools have been equipped with digital devices such as television, and projectors in classrooms which help primary teachers can teach their students through videos, songs and educational games created by PowerPoint. And it is useful for the students to acquire a new language more effectively and more actively. They can learn a new language through images and sounds, and then they can mimic the sounds, and the sentences of native speakers instead of trying to learn by heart each word. Additionally, more and more primary schools put a cap on marking for the students instead of the teachers should comment and encouraging their students to help them learn a new language more interestingly. For example, many primary teachers in Vietnam incentive their pupils to adopt new languages by collecting stickers, then they can use their stickers to change small gifts which benefit for the students to create, and use their inherent ability to acquire and develop a foreign language. To conclude, in order to learn quickly and effectively new language, it is better to educate new language young students.