Many countries spend large amounts of money on preparing competitors in major world sporting events such as the Olympic Games and football World Cup. Instead, this money can be spent on encouraging children to take up sports at a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, several countries invest a huge amount of money in athletes joining sporting events such as the Olympics or World Cup. However, it is believed by some that this amount of money should be diverted to encouraging children to take up sports. It is my firm belief that the government should allocate funds to both. On the one hand, there are several merits of investing in athletes taking part in sporting events. To begin with, when the performances of the athletes are outstanding, numerous visitors might come to the host country of the event in order to watch those participants. As a result, the host country can earn a large amount of profit thanks to tourism. Moreover, the country’s image can be promoted due to the fame of these accomplished sports players. For example, there are lots of people who know about Korea and Japan because these 2 countries organized the World Cup in 2002, a sports event in which there were many well-known sportspeople. On the other hand, I personally believe that it is also practical to spend money on promoting children to practice sports. First, playing a sport may help children to improve their health, both mentally and physically. After spending long hours at school, children might be under a great amount of stress. However, they can opt for a sport as a hobby in order to relax and this might help improve their mental health. Also, by playing a sport for a long time, their health can be significantly enhanced. Second, it can be easier for children to make lots of friends when playing sports. As a result, this may help them to become more outgoing and more confident because they will have several chances to communicate with others. In conclusion, although some think that the authorities should invest in encouraging the young generation to take up sports instead of using a large amount of money for athletes, it is my firm belief that the government should spend on both sides.