The best way to solve world’s traffic and environmental problems is increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

Some people argue that the most efficient way to protect the world from huge traffic and issues associated with the environment is to rise the fuel cost. In my view, it is not the best way to solve those problems. First, raising fuel prices does not directly affect people's choice of transportation. A couple of years ago, researchers at the University of Edinburgh made research and published a report which clearly stated that there was no relationship between fuel cost and which transportation people take. This is because people who go to the office still need to travel whatever the fuel price is. Hence, raising fuel prices does not have a significant impact on easing traffic and calming down environmental issues. In the meantime, it is undeniable that traffic has a significant impact on the environment due to the emission of carbon dioxide. An expert at UCLA proved that if a quarter of people in the world shift their daily mode of transportation from car to bicycle, at least 5 million of carbon dioxide can be removed from the air, and there will be no traffic jams occurred globally. Hence, such measures which promote people to ride bicycles make a huge impact to protect the earth and ease traffic. Overall, it is true that the environment and traffic have been two significant issues that we have in this century. To tackle with this issue, I believe it is important to encourage people to take bicycles more than taking a public transportation such as trains.