Unemployment remains the biggest challenge for school-leavers. To what extent do you agree? What other challenges do young people face today?”

Public concern has arisen whether people who do not graduate high school, tend to get employed less than people who graduated successfully. I tend to believe that this statement is undeniably true, but also, there are lots of other challenges that today’s youth faces in their daily lives. The primary factor we need to take into consideration is that school-leavers do not get the same social acceptance as people who graduated their studies. It is expected in today’s society, that a person would at least have a diploma from their high school studies, it is a stereotype that shows that a person has basic knowledge and skills. Those skills are needed for an employer to evaluate whether you are suitable for a work they are offering. When an individual has not finished their studies, they do not have much social mobility or job opportunities. To add to, young people also face existential threats like war, economic crises, and natural disasters. These crises might induce a lot of stress in a youngster’s life, on top of the other, less catastrophic things they have to deal with on their own, like- living alone, paying taxes, earning a living. It is not easy for a young person to start a successful life instantly after school, they face tons of stressors every day. It can lead to a range of issues for their mental or physical health. To sum up, I firmly believe that unemployment remains the biggest challenge for people that have left school. Nevertheless, it is not the only crise that young people face in their lives. There are lots of existential threats that youth have to come into contact with.