Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In a number of countries mobile phones are prohibited at the school level. It definitely must be having a beneficial development in the learning process which is why these rules have been developed and followed strictly. In my opinion, it's a rule much-needed for the better learning process of the students. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. Because it will help the students focus on their task rather than getting constantly distracted by the buzzing of these devices. If there is a mobile phone taking all their attention away they will listen less to their teachers and also wasting their energy. By this constant use of mobile phones the discipline of the class will be compromised. These children will feel irritable when their teachers would ask them to concentrate. Consequently for productive study and lesser distraction these restrictions are necessary. Because of lack of concentration the grades of these students can suffer greatly. This will affect their self esteem, they will not feel confident even in the later stages of their life if their foundation wont be strong enough. As a result of the bad grades their admission in university would be at stake which will affect their job opportunities later on. In conclusion, mobile phones have their benefits in their own way but they should not be a part of a classroom where certain rules should be followed to shape these students into successful human beings.If their attention span would be affected so early on it will have its long term consequences.