Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends have an important role in our social life. We share a lot of time with them, and they give us joy. Some people mention that is better to have only one long-lasting friend rather than making lots of new friends to hang out with for a couple of days. Personally, I agree with this statement. I feel this way for two reasons that I would explain in detail below. The first point I would like to make is that lifelong friends are going to be for you anytime and anywhere. This is because you might create a strong relationship and feel with these people. Even though many people don't stay in the same place over the years, they should find a way to keep their old friends. For instance, I've been travelling a lot since last year and meeting lots of people during these trips. The daily activities and sharing time together, made me develop a friendship with these people. However, I would never change any of these people for my best friend, whom I met 16 years ago. The main reason is that I know I can always count on her. I can share with her things I wouldn't share with anyone else. Because of my trips, it's not easy to always chat or see each other, but I try every day to give her time to talk by phone. This is my way to keep our friendship. The second thought I would like to make is that keeping friendships for many years helps you in your self-development. This is because the more years you spend with someone, the more that you know someone and vice-versa. It's like you grow with those people. For example, when you meet a new person, you just know the superficial things about that person. While, you may know a lot of things about your old friend, including their preferences and feelings. This person could be considered a relative of you. Like every family, you need to develop your social skills and abilities to have easy convenience. In conclusion, I think it's better to have lifelong friends than to make a lot of new friends easily. As I mentioned before, you can always count on your lifelong friends. Also, good friends are like a family, you grow with them, and you learn with them.