It is becoming increasingly popular for people to travel to tourist destinations during public holidays. What problems does this cause? What solutions are there to these problems?

Nowadays, many people visit famous places known for their tourism during government holidays. This essay will first outline that the principal problems associated with this are vehicle congestion and the inappropriate littering of these places and then discuss that the efficient managing of crowds and strict penalization of miscreants who litter are appropriate solutions. It is true that the issues related to the overcrowding of tourist spots during holidays are traffic disruption and excessive dirtying of such areas. Vehicle congestion is an alarming issue which arises due to the mismanagement of large crowds, it results in unnecessary delays and increased levels of stress. Besides this, another serious consequence of this is the massive amount of garbage which collects at these popular tourist destinations during public holidays. This is dangerous to the environment and ruins the beauty of these areas making them unhygienic and dirty. For instance, during the Diwali festival, there was a mass gathering at the Gateway of India and it was noticed the next morning that there were many plastic bottles and cups thrown all around. Although the aforementioned issues are pressing matters, there are some viable solutions like the implementation of a good crowd and traffic management system and laws which make tourists observe cleanliness. Firstly, the government could appoint a team to control and guide tourists efficiently by making them walk in lines and maintain decorum. This team can also manage any issues related to traffic. During the Beijing Olympics in 2018, the Chinese government created a special task force to monitor spectators, this significantly reduced the chances of chaos. Secondly, strict rules and regulations can be put in place to prevent people from littering and throwing waste in dustbins. Police officers can impose a fine on those visitors who do not abide by these laws. This will help ensure cleanliness. In conclusion, there are several disadvantages associated with visitors travelling to popular places during vacations, like overcrowding and disruption of tidiness. However, these can be proactively tackled if there is a good management system in place and strict punishments for damaging surroundings are imposed.