The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Among all the benefits brought by the advancement of technology, perhaps the most directly felt one is the increasingly wider range of daily commodities. Mass production of consumer goods causes environmental deterioration in multiple ways, and sound measures could be taken to tackle this. It is well known that assembly lines could produce hazardous byproducts and wastes, which could cause irreversible damage to the environment, such as poisonous fumes from manufacturing plants, and deforestation and soil erosion from the construction of new factories. However, these are just the apparent impacts of mass production, and there are more insidious effects. For example, every year, millions of tons of clothes are discarded in landfills because consumers are used to renewing their wardrobes seasonally or even monthly under the impact of consumerism. Additionally, an increasing amount of orders also need more frequent transportation, therefore leaving a larger carbon footprint. Both institutional and individual efforts are needed to reduce pollution. First of all, manufacturers should take environmentally friendly approaches to production so that they could minimize the waste produced in the production process. Huge fines should also be imposed on factories which discharge pollutants casually. Secondly, consumers should be aware of the consequences of their daily purchases. In some developed countries such as Japan and Germany, for instance, residents are charged large disposal fees when they are throwing their garbage, which is a good way of educating people about the significance of recycling and cherishing their own possessions. In conclusion, producers would spare no efforts to satisfy the demand of the market, even at the risk of destroying our homeland. As a result, strong regulations should be implemented. As for the consumers, they are obliged to know what happens to the environment behind their excessive pursuit of abundance, and sometimes due charge might be a practical solution.