More and more people move from the countryside to big cities. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages to the environment?

The past few decades have seen a rising tide of people migrating from countries to big cities. While urban expansion may have some positive effects, the damage to the environment is much more serious. The main disadvantage of this trend is the increased possibility of environmental pollution. On the one hand,The growing number of urban residents will generate more household waste than before. As a result, waste treatment will need burning and spilling, which will lead to more air pollution and soil degradation. On the other hand, People who just moved to the city and have to go to work every day make more use of private cars,for which greenhouse gas emissions would intensify air pollution and. worsen the ecological condition. Spaces tend to occupy the construction of houses and office buildings, which might cause unintentional damage to the urban ecosystem. The authorities could be argued to enjoy the influx of new immigrants, according to some. It would have more revenues accumulated for environmental preservation measures such as developing alternative energy or optimizing ways of waste disposal. However, A problem with a large population cannot be solved, nor can an approach to environmental damage that is inherently irreversible. Even if a brand-new waste disposal system is implemented, problems will still occur when the amount of waste far exceeds the system’s capacity to handle it. In conclusion, I believe that when a large group of people moves from the countryside to cities, it is more likely to cause environmental problems that are irreparable.