Crime is a growing problem on a global scale. Some think that crime prevention rather than punishment is the key to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals maintaining that preventing people from committing crimes would be more effective in combating the rising crime rates, whereas others argue that stringent punishment is the key to reducing the rates. Personally, I largely agree with the latter argument and I will explain the reasons in this essay. The primary reason for strenuous punishment is that it increases the cost of performing illegal behaviours, such as drunk driving. To illustrate, when the Australian government increased the pecuniary penalty by 50% for drunk driving three years ago, the ratio of drivers who consume alcohol before driving substantially dwindled, notwithstanding the fact that this government devotes more than $1 million every year to educate their citizens the hazards associated with drunk driving. Essentially, appropriate punishment plays a pivotal role in warning individuals of the consequences of criminal acts. Furthermore, a more immediate effect in reducing crime rates is witnessed by imposing severe legal punishment for criminals. Prevention of crimes involves ample contribution from education. Nonetheless, even though the general public is more educated in our times, the proportion of criminal behaviours has not been reduced. In stark contrast, when more stringent punishment is implemented in society, a remarkable drop in crime rates takes place instantly. For instance, 70% fewer people engaged in corruptive activities immediately after governments announced a 10-year sentence for any individuals who corrupt in their companies. To conclude, to alleviate the rising crime rates, governments ought to be accountable for the implementation of proper punishment in their countries. Although prevention is also paramount in curbing illegal behaviours, legal punishment is a way more efficient and effective measure. Therefore, I disagree that crime prevention is more important than punishment.