Nowadays , women as well as men work full time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given gender equality in the workplace, the division of domestic tasks between men and women has been a topic of public interest as they both have full-time jobs now. While acknowledging why some people advocate this share, I would contend that it would be challenging to define a sufficient amount of household labor. On the one hand, it is understandable that household responsibilities should be split evenly when both males and females work full-time. Since the two parties have to spend a relatively similar amount of time in the workplace, there is no point in occupying one or the other with more domestic labor. This is further fortified when both husbands and wives share the economic burden, thereby they are not overburdened by unpaid work, giving rise to more time invested in bonding and taking care of family members. On the other hand, I am convinced that it would be difficult to determine such an equal measure regarding housework division. Owing to the nature of domestic tasks, it would be subjective to evaluate whether each task is demanding or not. For example, males might gravitate towards intermittent chores such as car upkeep or yard work, whereas females’ domestic life revolves around regular cleaning and laundry chores, among others. The same logic can be applied to parenting when husbands could consider this task exceedingly challenging as opposed to the female partners. Therefore, there still exists an unspoken hierarchy of chores in the household that the degree of fairness is not qualified. In conclusion, although there are justifications that domestic labor should be shared equitably for wives and husbands when they both have full-time occupations, I would argue that the nature of such equality is difficult to define.