Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main source in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative source of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Fossil fuels have been the prime source of energy for industries and automobiles for many years. However, some countries persuade the usage of renewable sources of power, and I completely agree that this is a positive change that must be supported by all. This essay will elaborate on why this is a favourable development. Firstly, fossil fuels are the major contributor to the carbon footprint which has resulted in global warming. To illustrate this, in India, the average climate has become warmer by 2 degrees since the last century. The reason for this is that, when these fuels are burnt, they result in the emission of greenhouse gases which trap the sun's heat on the earth's surface making it warmer. Hence, shifting to renewable sources of energy will reduce the carbon footprint and protect the world from an environmental catastrophe. Secondly, non-renewable sources of power can also be detrimental to human health. For example, in Delhi and Bombay, there is an excess usage of vehicles which run on petrol and diesel, studies have shown that there is a 15% increase in respiratory illness among the public due to air pollution. Burning these fuels can emit carcinogenic gases into the air and inhaling these toxic gases can be fatal. Therefore, shifting to eco-friendly automobiles like electric and solar cars can significantly reduce environmental pollution. To summarize, fossil fuels have been a root cause of environmental issues like global warming and air pollution. In addition to that, excessive consumption of these fuels has adversely impacted climate change making the earth hotter by the year. Furthermore, the emission of deadly gases due to the burning of these gases has detrimentally affected human health. Hence, nations should be enticed to adopt renewable sources of energy.