Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While many opined that having a higher institution degree will guarantee a sustainable career, others thought that pursuing a career immediately after high school is better. In my opinion, educational requirements for various career lines depend on the industry. Some individuals, on one hand, believe that attending a university or college will ensure success in their careers. They feel many top jobs require a minimum of a higher institution degree. In other words, university or college graduates will easily qualify to apply. For example, professionals generally, are believed to be university graduates working in job positions with high salaries, while those working in blue-collar jobs with low wages are believed to be the maximum of high school qualification holders. Therefore, if an individual acquires a university degree, he has a chance of becoming successful in his career. On the other hand, many feel that obtaining a job immediately after completing high school is better. They feel that the individual will not only start learning on the job at an early stage but will also start making an income at their early stage of life and as a result, they can start planning for their future. That is, those who went into jobs early have a higher chance of building a successful career and becoming wealthy before a university graduate completes his minimum of four years degree programme. For instance, some of the top management staff in some manufacturing industries were high school certificate holders, who learnt on the job and got promoted to the top management level based on experience acquired over the years. In my opinion, having a successful career depends on the industry requirements. For example, without a university degree in law, it is impossible to become a lawyer. However, a school qualification holder can learn engineering knowledge on the job and eventually become an engineer based on experience. This is an example of my personal career experience as an engineer, where my boss confirmed he became an engineer by learning on the job for many years. In conclusion, there is no one right opinion about how to achieve a successful career. The industry will generally dictate the job requirements. Therefore, those whose career aspirations will require a degree should not hesitate to gain admission into a university for further knowledge.