Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

It is undeniable that a great number of people have been engaging in bad behaviours even though they know it can cause negative impacts on their health. There are several causes associated with this situation, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem. From my perspective, the primary reason is that unhealthy activities can be addictive and are not easy to break. For instance, the persons who enjoy drinking alcohol are hard to get rid of due to alcohol making them feel excited to some certain extent. A smoking person also has the same situation with cigarettes. In addition, laziness is another bad habit, which can cause disease indirectly in the long term. Being fond of eating and sleeping a lot while lacking exercise, the individual may have difficulties maintaining body shape. Fatness should lead to adverse consequences, such as obesity. As a result, these are the factors that harm their health. There are various actions that governments could take to cope with the problem described above. For example, governments can launch campaign programs through the media to inform the public. By disseminating eye-catching slogans with educational information, people can notice the worst influences that detrimental activities may cause. Furthermore, the authorities can develop convenient access to health institutions, which provide professional assistance for those who are suffering from addiction. This should reduce the proportion of potential diseases. Therefore, by making progress in changing bad behaviours, these measures could have a profound impact on the issues. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, if those mentioned solutions are completed effectively, addicted people can contribute to a better living standard.